About Us

The Mint Inc is a Committee of Management appointed under the Crown Lands Act which reports to the Honorable Ryan Smith, Minister for Environment and Climate Change. We have the responsibility of the management of the former Royal Mint, 280 William Street, Melbourne, including the Northern Guardhouse, the Southern Gatehouse and the Car Park at the rear. We also manage Horticultural Hall at 31 Victoria Street Melbourne; Carlton Court House; Geelong Telegraph Station; Skipton Court House and Police Residence; Avoca Police Residence, cells and powder magazine; Drysdale Mechanics Institute; Beaufort Court House and Farm Vigano, South Morang.

There are six members: Kevin Courtney, Director of Colliers International; Leigh Phillips, Planning Consultant; Stuart McLennan, Building Consultant; Helen Weston, Director, Environmental Affairs Pty Ltd; Helen Lardner, Director, HLCD Pty Ltd; Dr Timothy Hubbard, Planning Consultant;

The Committee was appointed in March 1998. The management model it has developed seeks to ensure that buildings of heritage significance, owned by the Government and situated on Crown Lands can be managed successfully, after a full restoration process, to produce sufficient funds to maintain their costs in perpetuity as a minimum.

The Mint Inc has successfully completed the full restoration and leasing of all of the buildings under its management, except for the latest addition of Farm Vigano, and generates its funds from the leasing of these buildings and management of the very successful car park on the grounds at the rear of 280 William Street, Melbourne.

These activities generate sufficient funds to ensure that all buildings can fund their maintenance costs in perpetuity and also provide an excess to allow the Committee to extend this model to other Government owned, heritage significant buildings on Crown Lands with the Minister’s consent.

We have approached our work using sound fiscal policy and strong commercial practices whilst still respecting the heritage values of each site.